About the Board of Trustees

Johnson County Community College belongs to the citizens of Johnson County, Kansas. In order ensure the school is run for the best interests of the community, a 7-person board was created called the Board of Trustees.

Members of the board receive no salary and have a fiduciary responsibility to the school.

The board collectively is responsible for management and control of the college. They have the power to enter into contracts on the college’s behalf, hire the president, set salaries, etc. To perform their jobs, they also sit on various committees.

In the upcoming election, 3 of the seats are available, which means each voter will be able to select the 3 people they wish to elect. With President Sopcich’s recent resignation announcement, the role of the new Trustees has become even more important. The top 3 candidates will be elected to the board for a four-year term.